WhatsApp is without a doubt one of the most widely used messaging services, boasting billions of monthly active users. Like other messaging services, WhatsApp offers several hidden features and privacy-focused choices, such as the ability to block a specific contact. On WhatsApp, a user could occasionally wonder if someone has blocked them or is simply ignoring their messages. Here are several ways you can do to determine whether you have been blocked, albeit there is no surefire solution.
Know if Someone Has Blocked You on WhatsApp (2020)
1. Check Last Seen
You won’t be able to check a contact’s last seen time on WhatsApp after they block you. Therefore, if you don’t see a contact’s last seen, you can assume that they may have blocked you. It’s possible to disguise your last seen on WhatsApp, therefore this does not guarantee that you have been blocked.
2. Send Messages
If the message you sent shows a single tick rather than two Blue ticks, you may have been banned. You can also try sending a message to the person you believe may have blocked you. This method has the drawback that there is a trick to view messages without getting online, which produces a single tick, making it impossible to know for sure if you have been blocked. If the message receives two ticks, it has reached the recipient’s device and you are undoubtedly not blocked.
3. Look for Profile Changes
If you notice that a contact of yours has a status that is unchanged or a profile picture that hasn’t changed in a while, he or she may have blocked you. That’s because when someone blocks you, you are unable to see any changes to their profile picture or new statuses. You can’t tell if someone has just hidden their profile photo or blocked you on WhatsApp because it allows users to hide status updates and profile pictures as well. Just remember that before drawing any conclusions.
4. Make a Call
This is one specific example of how someone might have blocked you. If you contact someone on WhatsApp and they don’t answer, they may have blocked you because they won’t get your call notice if they have blocked you. Again, you might want to give it a few tries before drawing any conclusions because the person could actually be preoccupied.
5. Try Adding the Contact to a Group
You may see if someone has blocked you by adding them to a group if you think they might have done so. To test this, you can just make a phoney group and attempt to add the contact to it. You will see a notification that reads “Couldn’t add contact” if the specific contact has blocked you.
One other straightforward method is to see if you and the person you believe has blocked you have friends in common. If they are, it is clear that you have been blocked. If not, you can ask your mutual buddy to verify if they are available on their WhatsApp account.
Did You Find Out Who Blocked You on WhatsApp?
Checking out all of the aforementioned methods is the easiest approach to find out whether someone has blocked you on WhatsApp. Therefore, you are blocked if you are unable to access someone’s last location, profile photo, or status updates, or if you cannot call them or add them to a group.
Please share any additional foolproof techniques that we have missed in the comments section below. Don’t forget to read the other articles in this series in this series that explain how to determine if someone has blocked you on Instagram, Snapchat, and other platforms.